Coolamon Fire Museum

For more than three decades, Chris Berry (the current Museum Manager) pieced together a formidable collection of firefighting memorabilia.

The now retired firefighter and engine keeper, with 22 years of experience under his belt, started his collection upon discovering a brass firefighting helmet whilst he was fitting out a retired firefighter’s kitchen.

Originally, Chris’s vision was to house 2,000 plus artefacts in a museum; the old Coolamon Fire Station being the perfect fit!

The Coolamon Fire Museum officially opened on 5 October 2015 and is now used to tell the stories of brave firefighters, and educate visitors about the equipment they used and the conditions they worked under.  Items come from all over Australia and the world, including Peru and Africa, and include old breathing apparatus from the 1800s, over 100 fire helmets (from the 1830's to today) and mannequins dressed in full firefighting uniforms. There is also a photo display showcasing Coolamon's early firefighting history.

And Chris’ favourite piece is the old Coolamon Fire Station bell which 40 years ago was taken down and, after a two year search, found in a local garage. It is now restored to its original position.

“It is the final piece, it finishes the museum and brings back childhood memories for many locals,” Mr Berry said.

The Museum and Visitor Information Centre opening hours are 10am - 4pm seven days per week

For more information, please click here and here.

For a guided tour or group booking, please liaise with Chris on the number below.

Free Admission. Donations Welcome. 

Cnr Cowabbie Street and Loughnan Street, Coolamon

Opening Hours: 
10am to 4pm - 7 days a week  

Museum Manager, Chris Berry on 0419 090 504 (during open hours)